How YOSA Changed My Life

Like many children on the Southwest Side of San Antonio, *Joshua and *Natalie’s parents have only a rudimentary grasp of English. In this tough economy, that only makes it harder for their parents to find work. They had considered moving the family back to Mexico so that their dad could find work more readily, but their parents do not want *Joshua and *Natalie to lose out on their musical opportunity at YOSA . They are faced with the difficult decision of their dad probably leaving the country so that he can better support his family, while  leaving them here so that they can have a better life.

*Natalie wrote an essay on how the YOSA MLC has changed her life:

“For me, YOSA has changed my character. I always talked about my violin and Ms. Maggie and how good she was with me and how she always showed me things in class. And Ms. Susie also helped me at times. YOSA taught me about Beethoven. Ms. Maggie also showed me what a melody was and she showed me how to play classical music. Each class, I learn new things. I love it when they take me to see orchestras. In all my life, I have never felt like this – to love my violin, to love classical music and to love orchestra.”

The YOSA  Music Learning Center is a free after-school program offering free loaned instruments and music instruction to disadvantaged students on the City’s West Side. With minimal music programs in their schools, this program gives an opportunity for those students wanting to learn a string instrument. The program is led by MLC Director Maggie Raveneau.

*Names have been changed.

Leave a Reply

